3 reasons NOT to go to the flea market

I enjoy going to the flea market. And there are plenty of those in Berlin. On a sunny sunday I often look out of the window thinking “Oh what a splendid day for a stroll on the flea market”.

So I take my bike and head down the road for the closest flea market. Although much of the stuff sold on these flea markets actually has fleas there is also a whole bunch of selfmade goods, food and art. So this is the reason why I LIKE going to flea markets but as I was strolling along I wasn’t able to NOT notice all these little things that have the potential to ruin my harmonious stroll.

1) Twin buggies

It is usually extremely full in such venues. Especially on a sunny day. It’s already getting more difficult if you ever decide to walk into the opposite direction. So I go with the flow. Sometimes I get a little annoyed if somebody tries to make its way through the small alley with a buggy. What are those baby rugs to put around your body for?! But I could not believe my eyes when I saw a twin buggy swimming against the stream. Seriously?

2) Don’t get what you need but buy what you don’t

I often have small things in mind when going to the market. A framed picture, gloves, a tshirt… I almost never really find what I am looking for but I most definitely buy a bunch of other stuff. Things I probably don’t need. But if I see something that catches my interest on a flea market I instantly ask myself “Will this stall be here next week? Will I be here next week? Will somebody have bought it before I have decided to?” So in order to avoid thinking about those questions I just buy it.

3) Overeating

Now, most flea markets capitalize on the influx of people by having installed several food stalls, one looking more delicious than the other. But because of the massive amount of people you can’t be sure whether the food stall you are just passing already offers the best food you can get. Maybe. Maybe not. But if you don’t stop there, who knows if you’ll ever make your way back. I will go for the first mouthwatering one I see. Only to notice that there is one even better just a couple of stalls further. So I take some more. Cause well, this flea market takes place only once a week.

For all these reasons…

I should try stopping myself from returning every other week.
Instead I brush aside sanity and do whatever I feel like.

Leave a comment