Is a life worth a minute of time?

Urban Suicide

My favourite mean of transportation is probably the bicycle. I can get some fresh air while I feel sportive and I am faster than by foot and sometimes even faster than by car (during rush hour in the city).

A lot of people evidently feel the same as I see more and more cyclists on my way to work every morning. I can tell from their speed that most of these people don’t seem to be in a hurry. However, for some reason the majority keeps on ignoring red traffic lights.

For what reason?

I have absolutely no clue what crosses people’s minds when they decide that they wouldn’t need to adhere to traffic rules. Do they feel invulnerable? That they have certain rights which pedestrians and car drivers don’t have? What makes them feel so special?

I also find this to be extremely annoying as I have a rather high pace. I often overtake other cyclists just to see them slowly passing by at the next red light.

Even if they stop at a red light because the cars at the intersection have already started their engines – they can’t wait until the light turns green again: they roll a little forward to wait for exactly that moment when the cars seem far away enough to cross.

What if?

But what if something has been blocking their view? If there is a car that accelerates to still pass the green light?

Wouldn’t it have been worth the wait?

The amount of injured cyclists in Germany has increased by 37% since 1979.
Is that necessary?

Leave a comment